Convocation: 160 students bag First Class in FUTA as Three honoured with Prof Emeritus

Convocation: 160 students bag First Class in FUTA as Three honoured with Prof Emeritus

Convocation: 160 students bag First Class in FUTA as Three honoured with Prof Emeritus


160 students of the Federal University of Technology, Akure ( FUTA) will be graduating with First Class honours as the school holds its 32nd convocation.

The convocation ceremony is scheduled to hold between Nov. 26 and Nov. 27.

Prof. Joseph Fuwape,the Vice Chancellor of FUTA, disclosed this on Friday in Akure during a press briefing heralding the convocation and 40th anniversary of the university.

Fuwape , who was represented by the institution’s Deputy Vice Chancellor, Prof. Phillip Oguntunde, said that out of 5,114 graduands, 3,205 are in the undergraduates category while 1,909 are in the post-graduates category.

He said that 1,334 students have Second Class Honours ( Upper Division), 1,483 students have Second Class Honours (Lower Division) while 222 and 6 students are graduating with Third Class and Pass respectively.

The vice chancellor added that Miss Taiwo Oluyale of the Department of Building is the best graduating student with a CGPA of 4.89.

According to him, the institution which started in 1981 with 149 students and three schools of study now has 25,000 students, 9 schools of study, a school of postgraduate studies and 55 departments.

Fuwape noted that FUTA had fully commenced the medical programme with the admission and commencement of lecture by pioneer students of College of Health Sciences on Oct. 24.

He explained that the school had duly justified the reason for its establishment, saying that it had contributed to human capital development in the country and beyond.

The vice chancellor stated that the institution would bestow honorary doctorate degree on three Nigerians on Saturday for their outstanding contributions.

” I am pleased to inform you that the university will confer honorary doctorate degree on distinguished personalities, who are Chief Adebimpe Ige Aladejana-Ogunleye, Obajimo Osupa Dynasty of Akure Kingdom to be honoured with Doctor of Science.

” Dr Haroun Adamu to be honoured with Doctor of Management Science and Dr Ephraim Fagba Faloughi will be honoured with Doctor of Management Science,” he said.

He added that the similar gesture would be given to eminent three scholars with the honour of professor emeritus in recognition of their contribution to the academia.

” For the first time in the history of the university, three eminent scholars will be recognised with the honour of professor emeritus.

” They are Prof. Ekundayo Adeyemi, former Acting Vice Chancellor of FUTA and Prof. Olugboyega Ademosun, former Deputy Vice Chancellor and Prof. Oluwole Falaki, Pioneer Prof. of Computer Science in the university,” he stated.

Fuwape said that the convocation and the 40th anniversary lecture with the title ” Innovation, Technology and Prospects of Prosperity for Posterity in Nigeria” will be delivered by Prof. Pat Utomi.

He noted that FUTA had become the country’s most research intensive university and had contributed excellently to the education sector in the country by sterling distinctions received by students, staff and alumni and had delivered on its core mandates creditably well in the last 40 years.

Please follow and like us:


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )